Sometimes I Dream of Willie Mays

If you haven’t heard of the Baseball Project here’s an introduction to the group that specializes in songs about baseball. And specifically my favorite song of theirs, “Sometimes I Dream of Willie Mays” This bittersweet song is from their debut album, 2008’s “Volume 1: Frozen Ropes and Dying Quails.” The Baseball Project COVER 2008

Willie on deck in spring training 1957

Willie on deck in spring training 1957

Written by Scott McCaughey, he also sings lead. “Sometimes I Dream of Willie Mays” captures some of his personal memories and recollections about Mays in his Giants glory days, as well as Mays in the twilight of his career (when he played, briefly, with the Mets). Joining McCaughey in the group are Peter Buck of R.E.M., Steve Wynn of the Dream Syndicate, and drummer Linda Pitmon. Enjoy!
here’s the YouTube link:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PzAwu7OUzk

    It’s 1965, me and my dad Mac
    50 miles to Candlestick in our green VW van
    A Giants-Dodgers pennant race
    Mays and Koufax face to face

    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And tell him I was there
    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And the sun comes out, and the fog lifts, and he’s there

    Now it’s 1973, right across the bay
    Playing right field for the Mets, a ball goes through his legs
    I cheer the A’s to victory
    But that was something I never wanted to see

    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And tell him I was there
    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And the wind dies down, and the sun comes out, and the fog lifts, and he’s there

    In 1954, I was born into this dream
    The kind that’s always black and white, like an old newsreel I’ve seen
    A mile away in the Polo Grounds
    He pulls it in and spins himself around

    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And tell him I was there
    Sometimes I dream of Willie Mays
    And the wind dies down, and the sun comes out, and the scoreboard works, and the fog lifts, and he’s there
    And I’m there

    Scott McCaughey

Hey wake up Willie Mays Hayes!

Hey wake up Willie Mays Hayes!

Leave a Reply

