What would Tommy (Fucking) Lasorda say…

After watching the SF Giants utter lack of offense, RISP hitting, and scoring in last night’s frustrating loss to the Atlanta (I hate that chop!) Braves 1-0, I was reminded of a post-game quote Tommy Lasorda once gave when his Dodgers weren’t hitting:

“I don’t want guys who try.. I want guys who do!
I could go out and get a bunch of FUCKING truck drivers to play for us who’ll try.

I don’t want guys who try.. I want guys who FUCKING DO!!”

Do you hear that Huff, Tejada, Rowand?

And and my other favorite Tommy Lasorda post-game quote involved an ex-Giant, Dave Kingman. On May 14, 1978 Cubs slugger Dave Kingman hit three home runs on a 10-7, 15-inning victory by Chicago over Los Angeles. After the game, Paul Olden of the Associated Press asked Tommy, “What’s your opinion of Kingman’s performance?

“What’s my opinion of Kingman’s performance? What the FUCK do you think is my opinion of it? I think it was FUCKING FUCK! Put that in. I don’t give a FUCK. Opinion of his performance? FUCK, he beat us with three FUCKING home runs! What the FUCK do you mean, “What is my opinion of his performance?” How could could you ask me a question like that, “What is my opinion of his performance?” FUCK he hit three home runs! FUCK, I’m FUCKING pissed off to lose that FUCKING game. And you ask me my opinion of his performance! FUCK.. That’s a tough question to ask me isn’t it? “What is my opinion of his performance?”

Dave “Kong” Kingman pisses off Tommy!

Leave a Reply

